What IS it?

Last night, I took my camera outside as the sun began to set and sat down on the grass to wait. Just wait for something to photograph. I did not have to wait long.

We have a very large flowering shrub growing next to the house behind our garden. It is so beautiful when it blooms! I caught a movement out of the corner of my eye and zoomed in to get a closer look.

moth3

At first I thought it was a giant bumble bee! Then upon closer inspection, I decided it was a hummingbird. It wasn’t until the editing process that I noticed it’s moth-like head and lack of beak. I have never seen this before, but it was so beautiful and graceful in it’s movement.

moth1

I was not afraid, which is bizarro in itself because large, unidentified insect-like things generally send me flying into the hills. But not this guy. Later research would I.D. him as a Hummingbird Moth or Sphinx Moth

moth2

I sort of even hope I see him again!

Peace & Love
Emily

This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

