Harmon

This summer, I reconnected with an old friend from my childhood. Another story for another time. But he has a lovely dog named Harmon, named for the late, great Mister Killebrew. She’s a cross between a Shar Pei and an American Bulldog and has the coolest chill personality!

She’s become my walking/running buddy when I’m having a rough day and need to put on some miles. It’s been a blessing for me, both mentally and physically, to be able to swing by anytime and hit the road with her. But obviously, the rabid photography in me can’t just let it sit at exercise. Like most of the constant animals in my life, I shoot Hermon as often as I can. She’s proven to be an incredibly difficult girl to capture and makes me work for the shot I want. More often than not, she’s looking the other way, but every once and a while I can trick her into giving me some eye contact.

IMG_0511-001

Seriously, I have to get clever to get a good, clear photo setup.

IMG_0509-001

How gorgeous is she???!

I’ve genuinely been enjoying the challenges of photography as of late. They force me to get out of my comfort zone and actually use the photography skills I’ve picked up over the years. What fun would it be if all I had to do was shoot on Auto all the time?

Here is my futile attempt to get the black spots on her tongue.

IMG_0517

This photo was the result of about twenty attempts at just the one shot.

And then of course, because I just can’t help myself, I had to finish with some bizarre editing.

IMG_0522

Pretty sure her dad isn’t interested, but I would totally blow this one up on canvas and hang it on my wall!
But that’s just me.

Try to be nice to people, folks, and make it a beautiful day!

~ Emily Dahl

This entry was posted in Dogs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

